Patriotic Cupcakes!

This post is also available on azeatsandbeats.wordpress.com

Hey everyone! Today, I wanted to share with you the cupcakes that I baked yesterday in honor of America’s birthday. Unlike last year where I attempted to create a complicated layering pattern, this year I chose to simplify everything by baking two wonderful recipes and arranging the cakes into the shape of an American flag! I settled on baking the classic Red Velvet with Cream Cheese Frosting (recipe courtesy of “Pinch my Salt”) as well as some Zingy Lemon Raspberry Cupcakes (recipe courtesy of “Tasty Kitchen”), which worked perfectly since the colors of their frostings where white and red, respectively. For both batches, I ended up setting aside some of the frosting and dying that portion blue before topping onto the cupcakes, in order to complete the corner of my American flag. I even added edible white pearls to represent the Stars! Both cupcake recipes turned out amazing! Instead of raspberry, I used strawberry jam since it was all I had — a little improvisation. This didn’t stop those cupcakes from tasting amazing; they where definitely the standouts of the two. I had a fantastic time making these and they were an absolute hit! I cannot wait to continue my tradition of cupcakes on the fourth next year!

IMG_5133

IMG_5082

IMG_5131

IMG_5087

IMG_5138

IMG_5126PS2

IMG_5176PS

One thought on “Patriotic Cupcakes!

  1. Pingback: Cooking Playlist of the Week – #1! | Muffins with Mustaches

Leave a Reply

