Playlist of the Week – #2!

Hey Everyone! It’s time for my second installment of my playlist of the week! I actually recently saw a film, and one of the lines went, “It’s always nice to cook with a glass of wine”. While I definitely agree with this statement, I also think that a good playlist doesn’t hurt either. This week I’ve got more songs for you, and even though my cooking playlist is usually tied into my mood or what I’m making, I’ve had these songs on repeat for a while and hope that you enjoy them too.

1. Kavinsky ft. The Weeknd, “Odd Look”

French house artist Kavinsky gained fame after his single, ‘Nightcall‘, was featured in the movie Drive. This lesser known hit of his features Canadian singer The Weeknd, and it sounds like it comes straight from a hip-hop dance video. It’s an easy song to dance along to or just enjoy! The Weeknd’s part really works well in this song, and if you haven’t heard of him either, check him out!

2. Maroon 5, “Maps”

I said last week I’m a sucker for top-40. Maroon 5 is no exception, and I’m loving this hit of theirs.

3. Arctic Monkeys, “Do I Wanna Know?”

Another ‘mainstream’ song, ‘Do I Wanna Know?’ comes from Arctic Monkey’s latest album, AM. Although Arctic Monkeys have been making music for a while, their newest album really is a cut above the rest and has finally turned the Arctic Monkeys into a household name.

4. Alt-J, “Left Hand Free”

After a breakthrough first album “An Awesome Wave”, Alt-J (∆) is gearing up to release their sophomore album this fall. I fell in love with their debut album and was fortunate enough to meet the band and get my copy signed at Coachella two years ago. ‘Left Hand Free’ is the second single off of the new album, behind ‘Hunger of the Pine’. If you haven’t heard of the song or the band, check them out. Their song is very unique with no two songs sounding quite alike. It might take a few listens to get into, but they are well worth it.

Leave a Reply

